Our Scholars



The annual Health Equity Leadership Institute (HELI) is a weeklong “research boot camp” focused on increasing the number of investigators, particularly minority investigators, engaged in health disparities research to achieve health equity. HELI reflects an important academic consortium between two NIH funded Centers of Excellence: CCHE and the Center for Health Equity at the University of Maryland School of Public Health. HELI targets junior faculty in an effort to increase the likelihood of their promotion and tenure at health science research institutions.

Check out the HELI blog that is also highlighted on our homepage.

Read more about HELI



The AHEAD initiative is a collaborative effort with four programs associated with the ICTR  currently recruiting post-doctoral or junior faculty scholars with a focus on health disparities/health equity research:

1) Centennial Scholars Program in the UW SMPH;
2) T32 Health Disparities Research Scholars Program; and
3) Family Medicine Research Programs: Dr. Bruce Barrett’s Complementary and Integrative Health Research Fellowship (CIHR) and Dr. David Rabago’s Primary Care Research Fellowship.

Across these programs, scholars are trained to use Type 1 and Type 2 translational research approaches for investigation of health disparities/health equity. Many of the scholars in these programs are also from underrepresented minority groups. Stephanie Budge is the AHEAD Faculty Director as of July 2018. Caitlin Scott is the AHEAD Pilot Grants Administrator.

Read more about AHEAD